Behind The Wall With Rapper Pistol P

Isaiah Young
3 min readNov 14, 2020

Growing up in Edmondson Village a young star arose from the ugly struggle of his environment. Having to beat the streets to survive, is how he got his rap name. P said, “I got my name from when I was growing up and the name actually has two parts to it, for the ones that do not know. My nickname is Peewee so I just cut that off and kept the P.” Pistol just started taking rap seriously this year and is already reaching numbers, more than others do in years. “I was just playing with rap at first to be honest, like recording myself on the iPhone that type of stuff with my homeboys, Pistol p said. He fell more in love with music because he get to inspire the youth with his relatable songs. Rapping allows him to have a chance to take care of his family and share his story. Pistol always had a knack for helping kids, because of his past growing up as one. Pistol does not want any child to have to grow up the way that he did.

The Baltimore rap scene has been heating up for the last five years. Due to the high violence & crime, plenty of rappers or artists does not reach their full potential. Pistol p is fully aware of this so that motivates him to put consistent time and quality into his music. This young Don continues to give his fans hit after hit while still being incarcerated. Pistol p has been falsely accused of a murder that happened in New Jersey. He ended up bouncing back while still in jail by dropping two major projects, Street Scarz and Street Scarz reloaded all while being held without his freedom. Pistol said, “Rapping is not easy, you have to put in plenty of time and hard work if you want great results.”

Street Scarz is overreaching millions of streams on all digital music platforms and is getting major play everywhere including from some of the hottest clubs. Street Scarz has major hits like Digits, Trap Flow & No Love Lost, including Pistols favorite song on the tape No Sense. I asked him, “How hard is it to drop music while being held without your freedom?Pistol said during the interview, It was easy. I has so many good songs that I had already recorded so the hardest part was deciding which song should go on there. So it was really easy. It was easy because we got a pretty big catalog and I got songs in bulk. When I was home I was really working so it wasn’t too difficult.” Pistol wanted to paint a more vivid picture of his lifestyle and how he grew up in the streets in Edmondson Village. “There’s always a positive in every dark situation that you go through in life.” -Pistol P

--

--

Isaiah Young

I’m from Baltimore MD, I am a 22 year old Entrepreneur, Urban Journalist, and publisher. My goal is to create a new narrative.. Fmoig @thereal_zaythedon